Business-logo

Just BeClaws

506 Reviews
201-459-9100
280 1st St, Jersey City, NJ, USA, 07302 Map
Search
Go
Show only
& Up
Sort By
All   Service  

We appreciate your feedback

Rate Us
Comments

About you

This information will be kept confidential.
This information will be kept confidential.

Thinking of visiting us, please book an appointment.

Schedule
Quick Note

About you

This information will be kept confidential.
This information will be kept confidential.

About you

This information will be kept confidential.
1185 Check-ins
user profile picture
Arleen J.
Jan 20, 2018
I've been 2 times and everything has been amazing each time. The food never stops coming out, so you have to remember to pace yourself (even though you may way to eat every last bit of the fried calamari ). Service is great, House is adorable, owners are genuinely sweet. I sincerely love going here as do all my friends.
Was this review ...?
Useful
Send to Friend
user profile picture
P S.
Jan 20, 2018
Favorite seafood place and the only place I know of that seems to make gumbo in JC. Not the same as down south but is pretty decent. I really like their fried oysters and crab cake sandwiches.
Was this review ...?
Useful 1
Send to Friend
user profile picture
Brian S.
Jan 19, 2018
I'm not typically a fan of Seafood, but my experience at Just BeClaws made me realize HOW GOOD SEAFOOD REALLY IS!To start off our dinner, we had the JB fries, which were fries with crab and lemon. The fries were crisp and the crab and lemon combination was great.My main entree was a pound of shrimp with the BeClaws sauce, which I think might have been around 15 pieces. IT WAS AMAZING! I had it with a side of corn and made the heat medium, giving the shrimp an extra kick but nothing too unbearable. The place is BYOB so that's also a plus. I'd suggest going earlier in the day though because when we got there at 6PM we had an hour wait. They do limit you on the amount of time you can stay eating in their restaurant so it goes by quick.
Was this review ...?
Useful
Send to Friend
user profile picture
Chris M.
Jan 19, 2018
If you love seafood, Just BeClaws is highly recommended.  The food was superb and of course, very fresh which I believe is a vital thing to consider should one decides to have some.  The oysters, nothing will beat that - yummy.  The crab cakes, the French fries with the real crab meat on top, the fried calamari and the chicken wings- they're all sumptuous.  The shrimp was sweet so you can tell that it's fresh and not over cooked.  The lobster sandwich, although a little bit pricey for me, is also recommended.  Not to mention, the spicy sauce is perfectly done to anyone 's liking.  Will definitely go back again and I must say to never doubt it's goodness - they're all delicious!
Was this review ...?
Useful
Send to Friend
user profile picture
Gail E.
Jan 09, 2018
So I loveeeeee my seafood ! And afterComing here I honestly can't go anywhere else . Great crab amounts and amazing flavors ! Shrimp is super ,Oysters huge.  It's BYOB so make sure you bringA nice bottle of wine to match your meal !  Wish they can add more to the menu .But besides that great food , good service . If your a big Joe's Crab Shack person like I was , I'm telling you ditch that and try here ! Such better quality !!!!
Was this review ...?
Useful
Send to Friend
user profile picture
Jeff O.
Jan 06, 2018
This place is.... awesome!Loved the shrimp with the BeClaws sauce. Loved the snow crab legs. LOVED the wings with parmesan garlic sauce. Liked x100 the fries with crab and lemon. Fried calamari was normal but good. BYOB is awesome for a NYC boy. Really fun place. We came at 3pm on a Saturday, which was perfect because by the end it was Packed. We had a great experience and would recommend it for anyone. Yes, I miss veggies but whatever.
Was this review ...?
Useful
Send to Friend
user profile picture
Tom B.
Dec 31, 2017
Living in the northeast and having a girlfriend born in Louisiana, it's been challenging to find food with the right spice profile to sate her southern cravings. Enter Just BeClaws, the seafood boil specialists located a short distance from the Grove Street PATH station. We rolled up as a party of 4, starting with the cheesy crab fries. This was the highlight of the dinner from my perspective, generously smothered in cheese and heaped with crab meat. Moving on to the real deal - seafood served in plastic bags with a spicy broth/sauce and sides to your taste. Coming from civilised Australia, this was quite a culture shock, we were kitted out with the finest plastic bibs and gloves to ensure we didn't end up with the meal all over our clothes. We ordered two pounds of shrimp, a pound of lobster and a pound of crab. For sides, we had sausage, corn, potatoes and the surprise hero of the day; egg noodles. The salty, rich flavour of the boil broth was very good, however I don't have the patience to fight through the shell to get to the crab and lobster. The shrimp were a little easier, so I spent most of my time on those little suckers which did the job nicely. Overall, I have to say that this place was an experience. I personally don't think I'm made for the seafood boil life, I don't have the scrappiness required to really get in there and pry the meat from the claws of the shellfish. Having said that, service was excellent, the spicy flavours delicious and the crab fries out of this world good.
Was this review ...?
Useful
Send to Friend
user profile picture
Sheila K.
Dec 11, 2017
It was so easy to get a table here! We didn't even have to make a reservation and our table was seated immediately.The food here is meh. The price you pay here is just so steep and it's not like the seafood here is extraordinary. We had a feeling that we would be walking into an overpriced but standard seafood restaurant and that's exactly what we got. My only warning is: do not get the lobster bisque, it is so spiced and salty!The atmosphere is fun and the service is great. But overall, this place is standard and mediocre for the price.
Was this review ...?
Useful
Send to Friend
user profile picture
Marc H.
Dec 05, 2017
I used to love this place,  great food, great atmosphere... but sadly all good things come to an end, and I fear that Just BeClaws has reached its peak...  My recommendation now is to avoid this place!  The food is still good, but mgmt and staff are just uncaring to the extreme....I hadn't been here in almost a year, but came back a few weeks ago,  I ordered my fav mussels.... The order came out and half of the mussels (if not more) were empty shells and before anyone asks, yes I looked at the bottom of the bag in case the mussel meat came off,  nope, this was maybe 5 mussels that had meat and the rest were empty shells...,  Now I understand that things happen,  and I was not upset until I said something, the server and mgr gave me a hard time before replacing my order...  That really annoyed me, But what really sealed the deal for me was I came back here on Sunday around 5:30,  I came early since there is often a wait at this place,   I walked in and there were several empty tables so I asked for a table for 3.  My friends and I were then stunned to be told it would be a 20 minute wait,  I asked about the empty tables and was told "Oh that one is for 4 people and the other is for 5"    Um, I am a party fo 3...you cannot seat me at a 4 top???What really made it worse was the mgr could have CARED LESS that she had an upset customer...Sad to say I will never return...
Was this review ...?
Useful
Send to Friend
user profile picture
Katrina O.
Dec 04, 2017
Decent sized shrimps with head on for extra slurping deliciousness! Got an order of 3 lbs of shrimp and an order of fried catfish to go as it was over an hour wait! Walked it back to my brother's apartment and everything was still super hot! There was 3 of us and we managed to finish the 3 lbs of shrimp but leftover catfish and fries. my brother thought we ended up with more than 3 lbs but who knows. Sometimes you go to places like this and the flavor seems watered down. Not at this place though, everything was super yummy. I would recommend this place to people in the area!
Was this review ...?
Useful
Send to Friend